Royal Cinque Ports Golf Club is a Members’ Club with an 18 hole Championship Links, regarded as one of the finest in the world.
The staff at Royal Cinque Ports are renowned for their personable service and happy disposition.
The team is a blend of youth and experience, with all the staff sharing a great enthusiasm for their roles.
The Clubhouse was built in 1892, a few months after the foundation of the 9-hole course. Since then, the building has been renovated on numerous occasions and today we have a traditional Clubhouse which offers modern facilities and top class hospitality.
The 19th is worth a visit on its own.
The Club offers a wide selection of dishes, which are seasonal, fresh and locally sourced. Our team of chefs are happy to create bespoke menus to suit any occasion.
In almost 130 years of the Royal Cinque Ports Golf Club there have only been eight Head Professionals.
The first, Harry Hunter, was Professional from 1892-1935. Our current Head Professional, Andrew Reynolds, was appointed in 1978. Andrew is renowned for providing service of the highest quality to Members and visitors alike.
The Club has been the scene of many championships, including The Open in 1909 (won by J.H. Taylor) and 1920 (won by George Duncan), as well as some of golf’s most prestigious amateur events.
Since 1925, the Club has been home every year to the Public School Golf Society’s Halford Hewitt Cup. With 64 teams of 10 players, it is the largest amateur foursomes tournament in the world.
Over the years, the Club’s membership has included ‘the great and the good’, as well as the ordinary golfer! These include Royalty, Prime Ministers and MPs, as well as celebrated golf professionals, journalists and commentators.