1909 Open Championship

1909 Open Championship

Deal was awarded the 1909 Open Championship, and joined the illustrious rota which now read: 1910 St Andrews, 1911 Sandwich, 1912 Muirfield, 1913 Hoylake, 1914 Prestwick and 1915 Deal.

A qualifying field of 204 players was reduced to 69 players – 63 professionals and six amateurs – for the final four rounds, played on the 10th and 11th of June. The course length was 6,581 yards and the winner’s share of the prize fund was £50.

J H Taylor won with a score of 295 (74, 73, 74, 74), winning by six shots from James Braid and Tom Ball. As The Times reported “By his victory Taylor has now equalled the record of Braid, Harry Vardon and Tom Morris the younger of winning four Open Championships.”

“I am proud to have won the first Open ever played at Deal Links. It is most worthy of such an event being held on it.”

J H Taylor – Open Champion 1909

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.